Sunday, May 11, 2014

Announcing the winners of the Young 2014 Composers' Competition and Festival

The Bagaduce Music Lending Library announces the results of its 18th Annual Young Composers’ Competition & Festival.  Twenty seven young composers from across the state of Maine submitted original compositions for review by a team of expert judges.  Winners were announced and awarded cash prizes at the Young Composers’ Festival on April 26, 2014 in Blue Hill, Maine.
The young composers presented with awards were:  

In Category I: Age 7 - 13, the first place award went to Lucas Fischer from Rockland for his composition “Anastasia’s Piece” written for piano; the second place award to Kyra Teboe from Brunswick for her composition “It’ll Come With Time” written for drum set, electric bass, piano, and vocal; third place to Soren Nyhus from Waterville for his composition “Piano Sonata no. 1, mov. 2” written for piano; and honorable mention to Milo Lani-Caputo from Whitefield for his composition “Hershey Bars Glow in the Dark”

In  Category II: Age 14 through high school, the  first place award went to Evan Moore from Portland for his composition Misery (Fading Memory)” written for piano; the second place to Phillip Wright from Ellsworth for his composition “The Eclipse” written for flute, alto sax, clarinet and trumpet; and the third place to Samantha Barry from Cumberland for her composition “Whelan’s Waltz” written for piano; and honorable mention to Tonia Reiter from Manchester for her composition “Life Prayer” written for four part voice and piano. 

At the 18th annual Young Composers’ Festival all participating young composers performed their original work for an audience of nearly 100 people. All young composers were recognized for their accomplishment and given free membership to the Bagaduce Music Lending Library.  During the Festival, the young composers had the opportunity to meet and discuss their compositions with each of the three distinguished judges.  The judges were Beth Wiemann, Robert Bahr, and Fred Goldrich, who served as head judge. This year’s keynote speaker was Liza Rey, who is a harpist, singer, songwriter and accomplished musicians.  She engaged the young composers in an entertaining presentation and music workshop.

Launched in 1996, the Young Composers’ Competition encourages students to create new works and develop their composing and notation skills.  It also provides them with valuable feedback from professional musicians.  All submissions are now part of the Bagaduce Music Lending Library’s esteemed Maine Collection. 

The Bagaduce Music Lending Library, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt corporation, was formed in 1983 to provide music-library access to performers and music lovers nationwide, regardless of affiliation.  The library’s mission is to collect, preserve, and share printed music and scores, and to promote music education. Along with the Young Composers’ Competition & Festival, the Music Library is host to the Blue Hill Pops Concert on July 3rd each year, a summer-season tradition in Downeast Maine.

2014 Young Composers’ Competition & Festival Performers

Back Row- Liza Rey (Keynote Speaker), Nathan Vonder Haar, Kimonee Burke, Evan Moore, Tonia Reiter, Soren Nyhus, Grace Broughton, Van Boardman, Elizabeth Keenan, Acadia Miller. 

Middle Row -  Liam Swift, Kyra Teboe, Lucas Fischer, Milo Lani-Caputo.

Front Row - Albert Colella, Kaylee Hunter, Samantha Barry, Annemarie Towle.

No comments:

Post a Comment